Kuwait elected as new member of UN Human Rights Council

article author: 
Wed, 2023-10-11 02:04

LONDON: The UN General Assembly on Tuesday elected Kuwait as one of 15 new members of the Human Rights Council.

The council, the membership of which consists of 47 countries elected by secret ballot, is responsible for upholding and advancing fundamental freedoms around the world.

Kuwait joins Albania, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, China, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, France, Ghana, Indonesia, Japan, Malawi and the Netherlands as new members who will for three years beginning on Jan. 1.

Main category: 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× Contact us for news, article submissions, and SEO services.